Go into your profile, and about half way down you'll see a checked box "Allow Email"
Just uncheck and click "update profile" towards the bottom. Now the email option is disabled.
you email is not exposed when someone emails you through your profle, but if you
return their email or go to their profile and email them from there,
your email address will be exposed.